EVSC Foundation Announces Campaign to Honor Legacy of Late Coach Mike Owen

by | Aug 18, 2021 | News

EVSC Foundation announces a campaign to name Central High School (CHS)’s football field after Coach Mike Owen to honor his longtime commitment to the success of young people at CHS and in the Evansville community.

Mike Owen (1953-2019) lived as a servant leader in public education, mentoring thousands of young people through his 42-year coaching and teaching career at CHS. The son of two Evansville-renowned coaches (Archie & Louise Owen), Mike spent his life inspiring students to be their best, both on the field and in the classroom. For Mike, coaching was more than just the game—coaching was shaping the lives of young people by helping them develop character, kindness, and healthy relationships.

EVSC Foundation is working with a committee of dedicated Central faculty, alumni, and friends to raise $50,000. Funds raised beyond the cost of the turf naming project will go directly to CHS to support academic and athletic programs, including: instructional supplements for core subjects; updates for the electives department; auditorium equipment for music and fine arts; athletic training and conditioning updates in the weight room.

Coach Mike Owen was truly a special man who touched a lot of people’s lives in a positive way,” shares Robert Zoss, Bob Zoss Law and Committee Chair. “The opportunity to name Central’s football field after him lets us honor his legacy every time an activity takes place at the stadium. Mike was all about teamwork. I’m hoping our team of supporters pulls together to make this happen.”

To make a gift to honor Coach Owen and support CHS, please mail to the EVSC Foundation at 951 Walnut St., Evansville, IN 47713 (if paying by check, note “Owen Campaign” in the memo). You can also make a gift online here. EVSC Foundation is a 501c3 nonprofit organization as recognized by the IRS.

Campaign Committee: Bob Zoss, Chair; Ed Cole; Cathy Ferris; Andy Freeman; Chris Geiser; Steve Hammer; Jake Hester; Kathy Kleindorfer; Kim McWilliams; DeMarco Monroe; Marci Fenneman Moore; Terri Rothschild; Jon Siau.


Subscribe to our e-Newsletter

Enjoy our FREE EVSC Foundation newsletter and find out about the programs, activities, and events enhancing the lives of our students. Sign-up today. 

Pin It on Pinterest